Telephone:

0121 608 1576

 

Ofsted Inspection November 2018

   

 

In December 2018, our school received an emergency inspection from Her Majesty Inspector Catherine Crooks where it was recognised that the school is taking appropriate measures to address areas of the independent school standards that were not met in the June 2018 inspections. The overall outcome from that inspection is that the school met all the independent school standards that were checked on that day.

You can read the full report below:

Click here to download the Ofsted Report-November 2018

 

 


“Every time I visit Spring Hill High School I am delighted with the progress that my two young people are making within your care. Looking at where they started when they were placed with you and where they are now is remarkable. The growth of their self confidence and self worth along with their engagement in education is incredible. When I am in the office and hear other social workers with placement breakdowns, children not attending education, mispers, I realise how fortunate my two children have been to be placed with yourselves. I put the success down to your unique style and the hard work and dedication of your staff. I wish to take this time to thank them and acknowledge their hard work and dedication to the young people in their care”

Gillian Marklew
Social Worker
Bradford Local Authority

Ofsted Inspection June 2018

 

In June 2018, our school received a three days standard inspection from Ofsted and the team was pleased with the school’s quality of teaching learning and assessment and with outcomes for pupils. These two areas were judged as good. The team also found that not all Independent School Standards were met because the proprietor and leaders have not complied with the Regulatory Reform (Fire Safety) Order 2005. This led to an overall judgement of inadequate.

Some of the highlights of the inspection report include:

  • The behaviour of pupils is good.
  • The targets set for pupils are challenging and ambitious. Pupils know their targets and what they need to do to improve. Progress for the vast majority is good.
  • Leaders are aspirational for all pupils. They have a clear understanding of their pupils learning needs.
  • Leaders have an accurate view of the quality of teaching learning and assessment.
  • Together with the proprietor and board of directors, leaders have created a unique vision across all school sites.
  • Leaders have developed a broad and balanced curriculum. They are responsive to pupils’ individual needs and ensure that pupils have access to a range of academic and vocational qualifications.
  • Leaders provide rich opportunities for pupils to develop spiritually, morally, socially and culturally.
  • Pupils know what is expected of them. Their good conduct in lessons and during unstructured time of the day reflects reflects the high expectations of the school. The school is an orderly environment.
  • The 16 to 19 study programme meets the range of students’ needs. The curriculum is carefully planned and consists of relevant academic and vocational routes.
  • Teaching in the sixth form is highly personalised. Teachers know students well. They use prior information to plan and provide learning to meet students’ individual needs and future aspirations.

Since then the school has submitted an action plan to Ofsted under section 114 of the Education Skills Act 2008 and is awaiting a monitoring visit from Ofsted.

You can read the full report below:

Click here to download the full Ofsted Report - June 2018

 

Her Majesty's Inspection (HMI) 2017

 

On Thursday 2nd February the school received a surprise visit from Her Majesty’s Inspectors (HMI). The Inspection team comprised of, Peter Humphries, lead inspector and Susan Morris-King. Both inspectors were duly impressed after visiting all five school sites. The overall outcome was that, ‘The school met all of the independent school standards that were checked during the inspection’. The inspectors went on to say, “The arrangements to safeguard and promote the welfare, health and safety of pupils at the school are detailed and thorough”. This is a massive endorsement from Ofsted which underlines the tremendous work all the staff at Spring Hill High School put in, in order to keep our students safe.

Click here to download the full Ofsted Report - February 2017

 

Ofsted Inspection 2015

Parent View

 

Our school was last inspected by Ofsted in February 2015. We were delighted that the inspection team found that Spring Hill High School is a good school in all areas.

Some of the highlights of the inspection report include:

  • Senior leadership is good and inspires staff and students. Leaders check teaching quality thoroughly and support staff well;
  • Students make rapid progress in learning and in resolving their emotional and social difficulties. All students gain external accreditation, tailored to their individual needs;
  • The sixth form is good. It successfully supports students to help them prepare for the move to college or employment opportunities;
  • Students’ social and emotional developments are monitored carefully, which helps them to make good progress. The school’s safe environment successfully helps to transform students’ behaviour;
  • The spiritual, moral, social and cultural development of students is exceptional. Students learn to collaborate, share and support each other extremely well;
  • Throughout the school, teaching is at least good. It re-engages students in learning and helps them to enjoy their education, often for the first time;
  • Leaders monitor teaching and learning effectively, and ensure that they meet all the independent school regulations.

Click here to download the full Ofsted Report - February 2015

 


To register and give your views, please click here.

Should you require any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us. Ofsted's Parent View gives you the chance to tell Ofsted what you think of Spring Hill High school. Each year, we conduct our own Parent Survey, however by sharing your views with Ofsted, you will be helping our school to celebrate it's successes and further improve.

A video on how to register and complete a survey on Parent View is available by clicking here.


Parent View - Give Ofsted your view on your child's school 

 

Warwickshire Quality Assurance Visit 2017

 

Our school had a Quality Assurance visit from the Warwickshire Local Authority on the 7th March 2017. The team was comprised of Eileen Kell, lead Educational Psychologist for Warwickshire and Hayley McDonagh, Head of School Improvement team for Warwickshire. They visited our Slade Road site where they checked that the school environment was appropriate. They checked policies and procedures, observed lessons, spoke with senior leaders and spent time with the children who are from Warwickshire. We are very proud to say that they were glowing in their praises about the standards and expectations that the school sets on students' safety and wellbeing as well as other core areas. They were also very impressed with the atmosphere of the school, commenting on how the students and staff interacted with each other and how relaxed and comfortable everyone appeared to be.

Click here to download the Quality Assurance Report - March 2017